Caramel Fail

(via)

This is the movie poster from a foreign film titled Caramel. It takes place around a salon in Beirut, I recommend it! However this post is not about the movie, it is in fact about my failed attempts to make myself some caramel.

I gathered up all the ingredients from what I thought was a reliable source, notice it called for honey not corn syrup which was good because corn syrup scares me a bit.

I even spent a whopping 3 bucks on a candy thermometer because people say you will not achieve caramel-y goodness without it.

I carefully measured out each ingredient,

and made the butter into little “knobs” like it told me to! But alas, it was still a big major fail. I waited for it to get to the temperature it said but yet, when I poured it out on the cooling sheet it NEVER solidified. Just a light color of caramel in the form of sauce. Nothing wrong with this but I wanted straight up caramels, to put little bits of sea salt on. I wanted to enjoy them on my breaks at work when I just needed a little something sweet to tied me over!

I will prevail! I will attempt this again soon I just really rather not use corn syrup and since I know in the 1800s they didn’t have it you don’t need it, so we’ll see.

Anyone out there have a good caramel recipe they would like to link or share? I am in need, clearly. Better luck next time!

2 thoughts on “Caramel Fail

  1. Girl, making caramel is SO easy!

    2 sticks of butter (or margarine~)
    1 cup light brown sugar
    stir in a pot on medium heat until it comes to a boil, then stir for three more minutes
    take it off the heat and add 1/2 tsp of vanilla and a pinch of sea salt

    If you leave it still it’ll harden. When I made chocolate-covered Matzah for Passover this year I coated it in this caramel, sooo good!

  2. I can’t see honey making caramel. So without corn syrup I could see it not solidifying. What kind of Carmel’s are you attempting? I have made both candy n Carmel apples. And making candy is definitely! Trial n error. ie been there done that!
    PS corn syrup is just from corn

Leave a Reply

